Housing Health and Safety Rating System


Housing Health and Safety Rating System

What is the Housing Health and Safety Rating System?

Local councils in England use the Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS) to assess housing under Part 1 of the Housing Act 2004.

HHSRS allows a local council's inspecting officer to identify defects in a property, by assessing against 29 hazards. 

The most common hazards are:

  • dampness, which may be caused by condensation.  Find advice on Damp and Mould and ways of reducing condensation in the home 
  • excessive cold / heat -  find advice on pdf icon Excess cold [89kb].
  • fire, for example inadequate smoke alarm provision
  • pollutants, for example asbestos, carbon monoxide, lead.
  • lack of space, security or lighting, or excessive noise
  • poor hygiene, sanitation, water supply
  • accidents - falls, electric shocks, fires, burns, scalds
  • collisions, explosions, structural collapse.

For more information, read thepdf icon Hazards and Harms Outcomes leaflet [57kb].  The inspecting officer will assess each hazard where there is a contributing defect, and give this a score.  If the score is high, the hazard is rated as a Category 1 hazard, which the council must deal with.  All other hazards are Category 2 hazards, which the council has discretionary powers to deal with.

Powered by GOSS iCM